APS Physics

Syndicate content
Physics - spotlighting exceptional research
Updated: 18 hours 25 min ago

Viewpoint: Black Hole Evolution Traced Out with Loop Quantum Gravity

Mon, 2018-12-10 11:00

Author(s): Carlo Rovelli

Loop quantum gravity—a theory that extends general relativity by quantizing spacetime—predicts that black holes evolve into white holes.


[Physics 11, 127] Published Mon Dec 10, 2018

Categories: Physics

Focus: Twisted Light in a Photonic Chip

Fri, 2018-12-07 11:00

Author(s): Philip Ball

Light waves capable of storing quantum information can propagate through a photonic chip waveguide and potentially be used for on-chip computation.


[Physics 11, 125] Published Fri Dec 07, 2018

Categories: Physics

Synopsis: Revamping the Skyrmion Model

Thu, 2018-12-06 11:00

Theorists extend a nearly six-decades-old model for the atomic nucleus and use it to predict shape effects that the traditional model misses.


[Physics] Published Thu Dec 06, 2018

Categories: Physics

Synopsis: Uneven Turbine Placement Improves Wind Farms

Wed, 2018-12-05 11:00

Wind-tunnel experiments show that uneven positioning of the turbines in a wind farm can improve its power output.


[Physics] Published Wed Dec 05, 2018

Categories: Physics

Synopsis: Satellite Mishap Provides Chance for Relativity Test

Tue, 2018-12-04 11:00

Two satellites erroneously placed in elliptical orbits have been used to test general relativity with unprecedented precision.


[Physics] Published Tue Dec 04, 2018

Categories: Physics

Viewpoint: A Ranking Scheme for Mass-Transport Predictions

Mon, 2018-12-03 11:00

Author(s): Danny Perez

A new theory provides a way to compare the accuracy of different mass-transport calculations, which are widely used to evaluate the performance of materials.


[Physics 11, 123] Published Mon Dec 03, 2018

Categories: Physics

Focus: Computing with Wi-Fi Waves

Fri, 2018-11-30 11:00

Author(s): Michael Schirber

Experiments demonstrate that a room in a house or office building could act as an analog computer processing the microwaves used for Wi-Fi.


[Physics 11, 124] Published Fri Nov 30, 2018

Categories: Physics

Synopsis: Quantum Entanglement With 10 Billion Atoms

Thu, 2018-11-29 11:00

Researchers have experimentally demonstrated two cornerstones of quantum physics—entanglement and Bell inequality violations—with two macroscopic mechanical resonators.


[Physics] Published Thu Nov 29, 2018

Categories: Physics

Synopsis: Pinning Down Superheavy Masses

Wed, 2018-11-28 11:00

A new measurement technique directly determines the masses of two superheavy isotopes, providing confirmation that previous indirect measurements were correct.


[Physics] Published Wed Nov 28, 2018

Categories: Physics

Synopsis: Laser Light Cools Propagating Sound Waves

Tue, 2018-11-27 11:00

An optomechanical scheme selectively dampens sound waves traveling in a centimeter-long optical waveguide.


[Physics] Published Tue Nov 27, 2018

Categories: Physics

Viewpoint: The Plot Thickens for a Fourth Neutrino

Mon, 2018-11-26 11:00

Author(s): Joachim Kopp

Confirming previous controversial results, the MiniBooNE experiment detects a signal that is incompatible with neutrino oscillations involving just the three known flavors of neutrinos.


[Physics 11, 122] Published Mon Nov 26, 2018

Categories: Physics

Viewpoint: Low Efficiency Spotted in a Molecular Motor

Wed, 2018-11-21 11:00

Author(s): Adam G. Hendricks

A detailed study of kinesin—a molecular motor responsible for transporting cellular cargo—shows that it loses 80% of input energy to heat.


[Physics 11, 120] Published Wed Nov 21, 2018

Categories: Physics

Feature: Award-Winning Fluid Videos

Wed, 2018-11-21 11:00

Videos of shaking blue drops, oscillating flames, and dripping fluids win the top prize of the APS Division of Fluid Dynamics.


[Physics 11, 121] Published Wed Nov 21, 2018

Categories: Physics

Synopsis: Making Mixtures of Magnetic Condensates

Wed, 2018-11-21 11:00

A condensate mixing two species of strongly magnetic atoms provides a new experimental window into many-body phenomena.


[Physics] Published Wed Nov 21, 2018

Categories: Physics

Synopsis: One-Way Transfer of Magnetic Fields

Tue, 2018-11-20 11:00

Researchers have created a material that acts as a magnetic diode, transferring magnetism from one object to another but not the other way around.  


[Physics] Published Tue Nov 20, 2018

Categories: Physics

Viewpoint: Dissecting the Mass of the Proton

Mon, 2018-11-19 11:00

Author(s): André Walker-Loud

A calculation determines four distinct contributions to the proton mass, more than 90% of which arises entirely from the dynamics of quarks and gluons.


[Physics 11, 118] Published Mon Nov 19, 2018

Categories: Physics

Feature: Kilogram Untethered from Earthly Objects

Fri, 2018-11-16 11:00

Weighing stuff just got more thrilling, as the world metrological community has now redefined the kilogram—and other quantities—to be based on physical constants.


[Physics 11, 117] Published Fri Nov 16, 2018

Categories: Physics

Focus: Finding the Ideal Noise-Reducing Network

Fri, 2018-11-16 11:00

Author(s): Philip Ball

The structure of a network, such as an electricity grid, can be optimized to reduce the effects of fluctuations in the network’s inputs.


[Physics 11, 119] Published Fri Nov 16, 2018

Categories: Physics

Feature: The International Space Station Turns 20  

Thu, 2018-11-15 11:00

The ultimate space lab has hosted more than 1500 experiments. Here are five we thought you’d like to know about.


[Physics 11, 116] Published Thu Nov 15, 2018

Categories: Physics

Synopsis: A Laser Steers Electrons Inside Graphene

Wed, 2018-11-14 11:00

Orthogonally polarized laser pulses produce a controllable, variable current whose direction can be reversed in less than a femtosecond.


[Physics] Published Wed Nov 14, 2018

Categories: Physics