APS Physics

Syndicate content
Physics - spotlighting exceptional research
Updated: 6 hours 49 min ago

Focus: Drop Motion Is All in the Bend

Fri, 2019-02-22 11:00

Author(s): Katherine Wright

A drop of liquid can pull itself along a narrow channel by causing the channel walls to flex.


[Physics 12, 18] Published Fri Feb 22, 2019

Categories: Physics

Synopsis: Refrigeration by Quantum Measurements

Thu, 2019-02-21 11:00

A proposed noise-tolerant approach to quantum refrigeration eliminates the need for feedback control by exploiting the invasiveness of quantum measurements.


[Physics] Published Thu Feb 21, 2019

Categories: Physics

Synopsis: New Quasiparticles Confirmed in Topological Material

Wed, 2019-02-20 11:00

Photoemission spectroscopy provides the first experimental evidence of spin-1 chiral fermions and double Weyl fermions. 


[Physics] Published Wed Feb 20, 2019

Categories: Physics

Synopsis: Gravity of the Ultralight

Tue, 2019-02-19 11:00

Researchers demonstrate a key element of a proposed scheme for determining the gravitational pull of an object with a mass of just 100 milligrams.  


[Physics] Published Tue Feb 19, 2019

Categories: Physics

Focus: Microscopic Theory for Peeling Tape

Fri, 2019-02-15 11:00

Author(s): Dan Garisto

Extensive experiments lead to a theory that describes the microscale, jerky process involved in the seemingly smooth peeling of tape from a surface.


[Physics 12, 16] Published Fri Feb 15, 2019

Categories: Physics

Viewpoint: A Theory to Tackle Supercooling

Thu, 2019-02-14 11:00

Author(s): Thomas Speck

Reconciling the high viscosity of “supercooled” liquids with their microstructure has stumped existing theory, but an advance in liquid-state theory may lead to a resolution.


[Physics 12, 15] Published Thu Feb 14, 2019

Categories: Physics

Synopsis: Galactic Spirals May Form Spontaneously

Thu, 2019-02-14 11:00

Spiral galaxies could be transient, nonequilibrium structures originating from the collapse of clouds of matter interacting solely through self-gravity.  


[Physics] Published Thu Feb 14, 2019

Categories: Physics

Synopsis: Sorting Blood Cells via Their Stiffness

Wed, 2019-02-13 11:00

A proposed modification to a microfluidic cell-sorting device could separate cells by their deformability, an important marker for several diseases.


[Physics] Published Wed Feb 13, 2019

Categories: Physics

Synopsis: Neutrino Probes of Long-Range Interactions

Tue, 2019-02-12 11:00

Researchers place new limits on hypothetical interactions between neutrinos and large electron populations on galactic scales.


[Physics] Published Tue Feb 12, 2019

Categories: Physics

Viewpoint: A Metamaterial for Superscattering Light

Mon, 2019-02-11 11:00

Author(s): Yongmin Liu

A team has engineered a subwavelength structure that features a greatly enhanced capacity to scatter microwave light.


[Physics 12, 14] Published Mon Feb 11, 2019

Categories: Physics

Focus: Noise Improves Flow of Energy

Fri, 2019-02-08 11:00

Author(s): Philip Ball

A quantum effect in which random fluctuations help waves to propagate has been demonstrated in a chain of ten atoms.


[Physics 12, 13] Published Fri Feb 08, 2019

Categories: Physics

Synopsis: Freezing a 2D Ion Crystal

Thu, 2019-02-07 11:00

A laser scheme cools more than a hundred vibrational modes of a 2D crystal to close to their quantum mechanical ground state.


[Physics] Published Thu Feb 07, 2019

Categories: Physics

Feature: Making Swallowing Safer

Tue, 2019-02-05 11:00

Experiments using a replica model of the mouth and throat could help in designing safe-to-eat drinks, foods, and drugs for those who have trouble swallowing.


[Physics 12, 11] Published Tue Feb 05, 2019

Categories: Physics

Synopsis: Black Holes Could Reveal New Ultralight Particles

Mon, 2019-02-04 11:00

Gravitational-wave signals could contain clues to extremely low-mass particles predicted by extensions of the standard model of particle physics.


[Physics] Published Mon Feb 04, 2019

Categories: Physics

Focus: <i>Video</i>—Juggling Droplets

Fri, 2019-02-01 11:00

Author(s): David Ehrenstein

A pair of microscopic liquid droplets suspended by a laser beam can execute a surprisingly stable “juggling” pattern for up to 30 minutes.


[Physics 12, 10] Published Fri Feb 01, 2019

Categories: Physics

Synopsis: The Complex Dance of Two-Faced Oscillators

Wed, 2019-01-30 11:00

A ring of “Janus” oscillators—oscillators made from two components with differing natural frequencies—can exhibit myriad synchronization patterns.


[Physics] Published Wed Jan 30, 2019

Categories: Physics

Feature: Signing Off from Southern Sky Post

Tue, 2019-01-29 11:00

The Dark Energy Survey has completed a six-year observing run that will put our cosmology models to the most stringent test yet, as reported at the American Astronomical Society winter meeting.     


[Physics 12, 8] Published Tue Jan 29, 2019

Categories: Physics

Synopsis: Flexible Electronics, Heal Thyself

Tue, 2019-01-29 11:00

A suspension of copper particles fixes breaks in electronic connections, providing a possible way to heal damaged circuits.


[Physics] Published Tue Jan 29, 2019

Categories: Physics

Viewpoint: Two-Dimensional Electrons Raise Eyebrows by Pairing Incoherently

Mon, 2019-01-28 11:00

Author(s): Kamran Behnia

A reexamination of existing data suggests that electrons in 2D can form an unusual metal akin to a failed superconductor.


[Physics 12, 6] Published Mon Jan 28, 2019

Categories: Physics

Focus: A Cooler Computer

Mon, 2019-01-28 11:00

Author(s): Michael Schirber

A future computer might reduce heat production by timing operations to match naturally occurring temperature swings within the device.


[Physics 12, 9] Published Mon Jan 28, 2019

Categories: Physics