APS Physics

Syndicate content
Physics - spotlighting exceptional research
Updated: 14 min 10 sec ago

Viewpoint: Acoustic Experiments without Borders

Mon, 2018-07-16 12:00

Author(s): Martin Landrø and Nathalie Favretto-Cristini

A new approach to laboratory acoustic experiments could remove unwanted effects caused by the reflections of acoustic waves from the boundaries of the experimental setup.


[Physics 11, 71] Published Mon Jul 16, 2018

Categories: Physics

Focus: Glue or Ink Improves Soft Metal Cuts

Fri, 2018-07-13 12:00

Author(s): Philip Ball

Coating a soft metal with any compound that adheres leads to smoother cuts because the coating makes the surface more brittle.


[Physics 11, 72] Published Fri Jul 13, 2018

Categories: Physics

Synopsis: Ideal Mergers for Measuring Cosmic Expansion

Thu, 2018-07-12 12:00

Among gravitational-wave sources, the merger of a neutron star and a black hole may provide the most precise way to measure how fast the Universe is expanding.


[Physics] Published Thu Jul 12, 2018

Categories: Physics

Synopsis: Beat Strong, My Liquid Gallium Heart

Wed, 2018-07-11 12:00

Applying a current across a drop of liquid gallium induces an oscillatory motion reminiscent of that of a beating heart.


[Physics] Published Wed Jul 11, 2018

Categories: Physics

Synopsis: A Closer Look at Cosmic Dust

Tue, 2018-07-10 12:00

Simulations provide a detailed picture of the emission of dust grains in our Galaxy, which is known to interfere with measurements of the cosmic microwave background.


[Physics] Published Tue Jul 10, 2018

Categories: Physics

Viewpoint: A Hot Topic in the Quantum Hall Effect

Mon, 2018-07-09 12:00

Author(s): Jason Alicea

Heat transport studies of fractional quantum Hall systems provide evidence for a new phase of matter with potential applications in fault-tolerant quantum computation.


[Physics 11, 70] Published Mon Jul 09, 2018

Categories: Physics

Synopsis: Collective Spin Behavior in an Ultracold Quantum Gas

Thu, 2018-07-05 12:00

Researchers have spotted a never-before-seen collective spin oscillation in a Bose-Einstein condensate of chromium atoms.


[Physics] Published Thu Jul 05, 2018

Categories: Physics

Synopsis: Measured Dissociation Energy Doesn’t Match Theory

Tue, 2018-07-03 12:00

A precision measurement of the energy needed to break molecular hydrogen apart disagrees with recent calculations.


[Physics] Published Tue Jul 03, 2018

Categories: Physics

Viewpoint: The First Stars May Shed Light on Dark Matter

Mon, 2018-07-02 12:00

Author(s): Abraham Loeb and Julián B. Muñoz

Recent observations of hydrogen absorption that occurred when the first stars turned on may give insights into the nature of dark matter, new analyses show.


[Physics 11, 69] Published Mon Jul 02, 2018

Categories: Physics

Feature: Q&A: Searching for the Quantumness of Gravity

Fri, 2018-06-29 12:00

Brian Swingle believes that quantum entanglement could explain the nature of spacetime—an idea that could lead to a quantum theory of gravity.


[Physics 11, 67] Published Fri Jun 29, 2018

Categories: Physics

Focus: It’s the Heat <i>and</i> the Humidity—Two Ways a Crystal Shrinks

Fri, 2018-06-29 12:00

Author(s): Philip Ball

The mechanisms by which a material contracts on heating and on absorbing water turn out to be intimately connected.


[Physics 11, 68] Published Fri Jun 29, 2018

Categories: Physics

Synopsis: Giving Proton Therapy Energies a Boost

Thu, 2018-06-28 12:00

A proposed upgrade for proton accelerators used for cancer treatment could enable doctors to use the machines to image tumors as well as to treat them.


[Physics] Published Thu Jun 28, 2018

Categories: Physics

Synopsis: Material Covers All the Bases for Spintronic Memories

Wed, 2018-06-27 12:00

Multilayer structures of cobalt and nickel have ideal properties for next-generation spintronic memory devices.


[Physics] Published Wed Jun 27, 2018

Categories: Physics

Viewpoint: Surface Texture is Key to Rays Forming Around Craters

Wed, 2018-06-27 12:00

Author(s): John R. de Bruyn

A classroom demo of a marble falling into flour helps researchers realize the conditions needed to replicate the ray patterns that form around lunar craters.


[Physics 11, 64] Published Wed Jun 27, 2018

Categories: Physics

Synopsis: A Fresh Slice of Electrons Feeds Enhanced X Rays

Tue, 2018-06-26 12:00

A new free-electron-laser configuration emits soft x-ray pulses with record-breaking energies.


[Physics] Published Tue Jun 26, 2018

Categories: Physics

Viewpoint: Zeroing in on the Muon’s Magnetism

Mon, 2018-06-25 12:00

Author(s): B. Lee Roberts

A theoretical reevaluation of the muon’s magnetic moment gives the highest precision prediction so far, while doubling down on a discrepancy with experiments.


[Physics 11, 65] Published Mon Jun 25, 2018

Categories: Physics

Focus: Stitching Together a Knit Theory

Fri, 2018-06-22 12:00

Author(s): Michael Schirber

A new model predicts how each stitch in a knitted fabric will respond to a stretching force.


[Physics 11, 66] Published Fri Jun 22, 2018

Categories: Physics

Synopsis: How Correlated Weather Fluctuations Take Down Power Grids

Thu, 2018-06-21 12:00

Line failures can emerge and propagate in power grids because of varying power injections such as those from wind and solar plants.


[Physics] Published Thu Jun 21, 2018

Categories: Physics

Synopsis: Why Some Cracks Repel

Wed, 2018-06-20 12:00

A theoretical study of crack propagation provides an explanation for the observed repulsion between certain pairs of cracks on collision courses.


[Physics] Published Wed Jun 20, 2018

Categories: Physics

Synopsis: How Defects Keep Graphene Cool

Tue, 2018-06-19 12:00

Defects in graphene lead to a localized cooling effect that could be used to control heat dissipation in nanodevices.


[Physics] Published Tue Jun 19, 2018

Categories: Physics