APS Physics

Syndicate content
Physics - spotlighting exceptional research
Updated: 6 hours 19 min ago

Viewpoint: Circuit Simulates One-Dimensional Quantum System

Wed, 2018-09-19 12:00

Author(s): Emanuele Dalla Torre and Eran Sela

An electrical circuit simulates a quantum phase transition induced by the presence of an impurity in a one-dimensional conductor.


[Physics 11, 94] Published Wed Sep 19, 2018

Categories: Physics

Synopsis: Knotted Loops Fall Flat

Tue, 2018-09-18 12:00

A knotted loop of metal beads—mimicking a knotted molecule—organizes into a flat horizontal ring when drifting down through a viscous fluid.


[Physics] Published Tue Sep 18, 2018

Categories: Physics

Viewpoint: Higgs Decay into Bottom Quarks Seen at Last

Mon, 2018-09-17 12:00

Author(s): Howard E. Haber

Two CERN experiments have observed the most probable decay channel of the Higgs boson—a milestone in the pursuit to confirm whether this remarkable particle behaves as physicists expect.


[Physics 11, 91] Published Mon Sep 17, 2018

Categories: Physics

Focus: Astronomy Students Not Learning the Basics

Fri, 2018-09-14 12:00

Author(s): Philip Ball

Nearly half of middle school students in a Norwegian study thought that planets are bigger than stars, even after astronomy instruction.


[Physics 11, 93] Published Fri Sep 14, 2018

Categories: Physics

Feature: Meetings: Building Opportunities for Palestinian Science

Thu, 2018-09-13 12:00

Physicists gathered in the West Bank to discuss research trends, as well as ways to boost scientific collaboration in the region.


[Physics 11, 92] Published Thu Sep 13, 2018

Categories: Physics

Synopsis: Bismuthates Are Surprisingly Conventional

Thu, 2018-09-13 12:00

Photoemission experiments challenge the long-held belief that the high-temperature superconductivity of certain bismuth oxides is of the unconventional type.


[Physics] Published Thu Sep 13, 2018

Categories: Physics

Viewpoint: Fast-Forwarding the Search for New Particles

Wed, 2018-09-12 12:00

Author(s): Daniel Whiteson

A proposed machine-learning approach could speed up the analysis that underlies searches for new particles in high-energy collisions.


[Physics 11, 90] Published Wed Sep 12, 2018

Categories: Physics

Synopsis: How to Create a Ghost Chemical Bond

Wed, 2018-09-12 12:00

A series of electric and magnetic pulses applied to an atom could cause one of its electrons to behave as if “bonded” to an empty point in space.


[Physics] Published Wed Sep 12, 2018

Categories: Physics

Synopsis: Ghost Imaging with Electrons

Tue, 2018-09-11 12:00

Ghost imaging—a sensitive imaging technique previously demonstrated with visible and x-ray light—has been extended to electrons.


[Physics] Published Tue Sep 11, 2018

Categories: Physics

Viewpoint: Constructing a Theory for Amorphous Solids

Mon, 2018-09-10 12:00

Author(s): Emanuela Del Gado

Theorists are coming closer to a comprehensive description of the mechanics of solids with an amorphous structure, such as glass, cement, and compacted sand.


[Physics 11, 88] Published Mon Sep 10, 2018

Categories: Physics

Focus: More Energy from Ocean Waves

Fri, 2018-09-07 12:00

Author(s): Mark Buchanan

A new structure concentrates water wave motion and could lead to improved techniques for harvesting this renewable energy resource.


[Physics 11, 89] Published Fri Sep 07, 2018

Categories: Physics

Synopsis: Detection of a Zigzag Wigner Crystal

Thu, 2018-09-06 12:00

Using a nanowire with controllable width, researchers have created a type of Wigner crystal in which electrons form an ordered zigzag pattern.


[Physics] Published Thu Sep 06, 2018

Categories: Physics

Synopsis: Fish Eye Lens Could Entangle Atoms

Wed, 2018-09-05 12:00

An optical design called Maxwell’s fish eye lens could produce quantum entanglement between atoms separated by an arbitrary distance, new calculations show.


[Physics] Published Wed Sep 05, 2018

Categories: Physics

Synopsis: Climate Noise Has Shades of Pink

Tue, 2018-09-04 12:00

Temperatures on Earth’s surface exhibit “pink noise”—a finding that could explain the global warming hiatus in the first decade of this century.


[Physics] Published Tue Sep 04, 2018

Categories: Physics

Viewpoint: Shaping Electron Bunches at the Femtosecond Level

Wed, 2018-08-29 12:00

Author(s): Jérôme Faure

By crossing an electron beam with a terahertz light pulse, researchers are able to generate a tilted electron bunch, which could provide improved temporal resolution to electron microscopy.


[Physics 11, 87] Published Wed Aug 29, 2018

Categories: Physics

Viewpoint: Weak Lensing Becomes a High-Precision Survey Science

Mon, 2018-08-27 12:00

Author(s): Anže Slosar

Analyzing its first year of data, the Dark Energy Survey has demonstrated that weak lensing can probe cosmological parameters with a precision comparable to cosmic microwave background observations.


[Physics 11, 85] Published Mon Aug 27, 2018

Categories: Physics

Focus: <i>Image</i>—The Real Deal on 2D Electron Motion

Fri, 2018-08-24 12:00

Author(s): David Ehrenstein

An improved imaging system for electrons confined to two dimensions allows the intrinsic properties of the 2D structure to be separated from the effects of the probe.


[Physics 11, 86] Published Fri Aug 24, 2018

Categories: Physics

Viewpoint: Topological Superconductivity Could be a Twist Away

Thu, 2018-08-23 12:00

Author(s): Balázs Dóra

Theoretical models of twisted graphene bilayers explain a recently detected superconducting phase, which might harbor topological states that are desired for quantum computing.


[Physics 11, 84] Published Thu Aug 23, 2018

Categories: Physics

Synopsis: Cooling Large Numbers of Molecules to Low Temperatures

Thu, 2018-08-23 12:00

Researchers demonstrate a method for ultracold cooling and imaging of a dense cloud of molecules.


[Physics] Published Thu Aug 23, 2018

Categories: Physics

Synopsis: 3D Dirac Plasmons

Wed, 2018-08-22 12:00

Experiments provide evidence of 3D Dirac plasmons in a bulk material—quasiparticles that could enable novel electronic nanodevices.


[Physics] Published Wed Aug 22, 2018

Categories: Physics