Quantum Limits of Optical Communication II

2018-09-19 - 2018-09-21
Registration deadline: 
2018-08-15 (All day)
University of Warsaw, Ochota Campus, Warsaw, Poland

Ever growing demand for the capacity of optical communication systems calls for better understanding of their ultimate limits and more efficient strategies to utilise available resources. At the fundamental level, optical systems are described by quantum mechanics, which adopts a different view on the task of information transmission compared to the classical theory of electromagnetic waves: in the quantum mechanical description, data are carried in general by non-orthogonal quantum states rather than well defined macroscopic quantities such as the amplitude or the phase. This approach enables reduction of error rates below the shot noise level and provides more general bounds on the capacity of optical channels.

The motivation of this workshop is to bring together the community of optical quantum communication and the community of traditional optical communication. The objective is to learn from each other about recent major developments in our respective fields, our current scientific theoretical and experimental challenges, and most important open questions ahead. This interaction could potentially open new interdisciplinary lines of research, re-focus some existing lines of research, or exchange of theoretical tools or technological know-how.


Ulrik Andersen (Danmarks Tekniske Universitet)

Peter Andrekson (Chalmers University of Technology)

Francisco Elohim Becerra (University of New Mexico)

René-Jean Essiambre (Bell Laboratories, Nokia)

Javier Garcia (Technische Universitat Munchen)

Raúl García-Patrón (Universite Libre de Bruxelles)

Saikat Guha (University of Arizona)

Christoph Marquardt (Max Planck Institute for the Science of Light)

Alfonso Martinez (Universitat Pompeu Fabra)

Colin McKinstrie* (Huawei Technologies)

Stefano Olivares (Universita degli Studi di Milano)

Christine Silberhorn* (Universitaet Paderborn)

Mark Wilde (University of Louisiana)

Lijian Zhang (Nanjing University)

Darko Zibar (Danmarks Tekniste Universitet)

* to be confirmed