2012-09-10 - 2012-09-14

QCRYPT 2012 - Call for submissions

Singapore, 10-14 September

2nd Annual Conference on Quantum Cryptography

Conference Website: http://www.qcrypt.net
Paper Submission (deadline 20 May): https://www.easychair.org/conferences/?conf=qcrypt2012

Quantum cryptography aims to achieve security from fundamental physical principles, such as the quantum mechanical phenomena of entanglement and Heisenberg's uncertainty principle. In the last few years significant progress has been made in the theoretical understanding of quantum cryptography and its technological feasibility has been demonstrated experimentally. Quantum cryptography is therefore regarded as one of the most promising candidates for a future quantum technology.

QCRYPT is a new conference series on Quantum Cryptography. The first event took place at ETH Zurich September 2011, and was a resounding success with nearly 140 participants both from theoretical and experimental research groups, making it the largest conferences in this area. The second event will take place at the National University of Singapore.

QCRYPT is followed by the satellite workshop Japan-Singapore Workshop on multi-user quantum networks, 17th-20th September 2012, CQT Singapore, organized by Masahito Hayashi and Andreas Winter.

Conference format

QCRYPT features invited talks, contributed talks, and a poster session. In addition, we will also have a select series of focus tutorials this year to ease interaction between theory and experiment. As last year, there will also be an industry panel session.

Important dates

Paper submission deadline: 20 May (23:59 SST, ie in american samoa)
Notification of acceptance: 6 July

Poster submission deadline: 1 August

Submission information

Submissions of abstracts for contributed papers are sought in both theoretical as well as experimental quantum cryptography and related fields. We encourage submissions from related areas such as non-locality and information theory. The submission to QCRYPT should consist of 2-3 pages, containing a non-technical, clear and insightful description of the results and main ideas, their impact, and their importance to quantum cryptography. For theoretical work, the submission should direct the reader to a technical version of the work (this should preferably be online but otherwise can be provided as an attachment). The submission should not consist of a compressed version of the technical exposition of the paper, but instead should facilitate the reading of the technical version and help the program committee assess its importance.

The 2-3 page abstracts of the accepted contributed papers will be posted on the QCRYPT 2012 website. There are no proceedings, and simultaneous submission to other workshops, conferences or journals is possible.

Programme Committee:

Michael Ben-Or (Hebrew University)
Serge Fehr (CWI Amsterdam)
Patrick Hayden (chair) (McGill University)
Thomas Jennewein (IQC Waterloo)
Robert Koenig (IBM Research)
Christian Kurtsiefer (CQT Singapore)
Norbert Lutkenhaus (IQC Waterloo)
Stefano Pironio (Universite Libre de Bruxelles)
Thomas Vidick (MIT)
Hugo Zbinden (University of Geneva)

Steering Committee:

Matthias Christandl (ETH Zurich)
Roger Colbeck (Perimeter Institute)
Michele Mosca (IQC Waterloo)
Renato Renner (ETH Zurich)
Louis Salvail (University of Montreal)
Wolfgang Tittel (University of Calgary)
Stephanie Wehner (chair) (National University of Singapore)

Advisory Committee:

Charles H. Bennett (IBM Research)
Gilles Brassard (University of Montreal)
Ivan Damgaard (University of Aarhus)
Artur Ekert (CQT/U. of Oxford)
Nicolas Gisin (Geneva University)
Richard Hughes (Los Alamos)
Masahide Sasaki (NICT)


National University of Singapore Singapore