Synthetic Topological Quantum Matter

2016-08-01 - 2016-08-05
Zhong Guan Cun East Street 55 #, P. O. Box 2735, Beijing 100190, P. R. China
Topological phases have been extensively investigated in both theory and experiment in the condensed matter physics and ultracold atoms. This rapidly developing field has brought about a lot of new concepts and new understanding of the fundamental phases of quantum matter. The major objective of the KITPC/PKU conference is to bring together leading researchers working on the topological phases for ultracold atoms, as well as condensed matter (and photonic) systems, to report their latest findings in this area, and investigate the new issues particularly connecting to the interacting or non-linear systems. The main topics of this conference include new experimental and theoretical results of synthetic spin-orbit coupling and gauge fields, quantum anomalous Hall effect, topological superfluid, topological flat band, Dirac and Weyl semimetals, topological superconductors, topological insulators, and topological Kondo physics.
Please note that for the coference, the  Arrival day is July 31, departure day is August 5.
Confirmed invited speakers (alphabetic order):
1.  Monika Aidelsburger (Max Plank Institute / LMU, Munich, Germany)
2.  Nicholas P. Bigelow (University of Rocherter, USA)
3.  Hrvoje Buljan (University of Zagreb, Croatia)
4.  Yulin Chen (University of Oxford, UK)
5.  Shuai Chen (University of Science and Technology of China, Hefei, China)
6.  Cheng Chin (University of Chicago, USA)
7.  Hong Ding (Institute of Physics, CAS, Beijing, China)
8.  Victor Galitski (University of Maryland, USA)
9.  Leonardo Fallani (University of Florence, Italy)
10. Zhong Fang (Institute of Physics, CAS, Beijing, China)
11. Sergey Frolov (University of Pittsburgh, USA)
12. Mohammad Hafezi (University of Maryland, USA)
13. Andreas Hemmerich (Hamburg University, Germany)
14. Gyu-Boong Jo (The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology)
15. Gregor Jotzu (ETH, Zurich, Switzerland)
16. Tin-Lun (Jason) Ho (The Ohio State University, Columbus, USA)
17. Marton Kanasz-Nagy (Harvard University)
18. Wolfgang Ketterle (MIT, Cambridge, USA)
19. Kam-Tuen Law (Hong Kong University of Science and Technology)
20. Bo Liu (University of Pittsburgh, USA)
21. Maciej Lewenstein (ICFO, Barcelona, Spain)
22. Tomoki Ozawa (University of Trento, Italy)
23. Hannah Price (University of Trento, Italy)
24. Mikael Rechtsman (Penn State University, USA)
25. Julius Ruseckas (Vilnius University, Lithuania)
26. Luis Santos (University of Hannover, Germany)
27. Ulrich Schneider (Max Plank Institute / LMU, Munich, Germany; University of Cambridge, UK)
28. Klaus Sengstock (Hamburg University, Germany)
29. Jonathan Simon (or other member of his group) (University of Chicago)
30. Sandro Stringari (University of Trento, Italy)
31. Seiji Sugawa (Joint Quantum Institute, NIST/UMD, USA)
32. Masahito Ueda (University of Tokyo, Japan)
33. Jian Wang (ICQM, Peking University, Beijing, China)
34. Hongqi Xu (Lund University)
35. Hui Zhai (Tsinghua University, Beijing, China)
36. Shizhong Zhang (The University of Hong Kong)
37. Jing Zhang (Shanxi University, Taiyuan, China)
38. Qi Zhou (Chinese University of Hong Kong)
39. Peter Zoller (University of Innsbruck, Austria)
Associated KITPC Program:
3 week KITPC mini-program on Spin-orbit-coupled quantum gases to be held at KITPC Beijing from August 1 to 19, 2016:


Kavli Institute for Theoretical Physics China at the Chinese Academy of Sciences
Zhong Guan Cun East Street 55
Beijing 100190