"Quantum Simulation & Computation" Bilbao, Spain 12 - 16 February 2018

2018-02-12 - 2018-02-16
Registration deadline: 
2017-12-18 (All day)
UPV/EHU (Univ. Basque Country) Bilbao, Spain
Dear Colleagues,
We are glad to announce an international workshop on ‘Quantum Simulation & Computation’ taking place at the UPV/EHU (Univ. Basque Country) in Bilbao from 12 - 16 February 2018.
In a moment of time in which the field of quantum technologies is defining its short, mid- and long-term goals, the development of quantum simulators and quantum computers finds itself in a particularly critical point, in which important challenges have to be addressed, such as:
  • The utility of quantum simulators and quantum computers for short-term practical applications.
  • Issues of scalability in a variety of platforms: cold atoms, trapped ions, superconducting circuits, quantum photonics, quantum dots, among others.
  • Development of new quantum algorithms and study of the complexity of existing ones.
  • Practical demonstrations of quantum advantages, both in theoretical problems, as well as in practical ones.
The aim of this workshop on “Quantum Simulation & Computation: Advantage, Scalability, and Verification” is to gather leading figures in the experimental and theoretical realms, to address these and other problems, showcasing the state-of-the-art in the field, and planning for the near- and long-term future.
contact email: quant [dot] sim [dot] comp [at] gmail [dot] com
Late September 2017, a period of two months will be open during which we will accept applications to participate in the conference.
Application consists on a brief email quant [dot] sim [dot] comp [at] gmail [dot] com including
  • Name, affiliation and homepage
  • Title, brief abstract and type of contribution (poster/talk) if any
Late in 2017, we will publish a list will all applications that were accepted, as well as a conference program.
Invited speakers (confirmed)
Mohammad Amin (D-Wave Syst.)
Alan Aspuru-Guzik (Harvard Univ.)
Rainer Blatt (IQOQI / Univ. Innsbruck)
Jacqueline Bloch (Paris Sud Univ.)
Jonas Bylander (Chalmers Univ.)
J. Ignacio Cirac (MPQ)
Ivan Deutsch (New Mexico Univ.)
Michel Devoret (Yale)
Jens Eisert (Freie Univ. Berlin)
Leonardo Fallani (Florence Univ.)
Maciej Lewenstein (ICFO)
Miguel Ángel Martín-Delgado (Univ. Complutense)
John Martinis (Google/UCSB)
Chris Monroe (JQI/Univ. Maryland)
Christine A. Muschik (Univ. Innsbruck)
William Oliver (MIT/Lincoln Labs)
Jian-Wei Pan (Hefei Nat. Lab.)
Krysta Svore (Microsoft)
Leticia Tarruell (ICFO)
Lin Tian (UC Merced)
Lieven Vandersypen (TU Delft)
Andreas Wallraff (ETH-Zurich)
Will Zeng (Rigetti Computing)
We look forward to meeting you in Bilbao.
Best regards,
Local organisers
Enrique Rico (Univ. Basque Country), Pol Forn-Díaz (BSC), Juan José García Ripoll (IFF-CSIC)
Scientific committee
Enrique Solano (Univ. Basque Country), Gavin K. Brennen (Macquarie Univ.), Barbara Kraus (Univ. Innsbruck), Chris Wilson (IQC), Jose Ignacio Latorre (Univ. Barcelona)
Advisory committee
Immanuel Bloch (LMU/MPQ), Tommaso Calarco (Ulm Univ.), Steven Girvin (Yale), Serge Haroche (ENS), Ashley Montanaro (Bristol Univ.), Barry Sanders (Calgary Univ.), Göran Wendin (Chalmers Univ.), Peter Zoller (Univ. Innsbruck)


UPV/EHU (Univ. Basque Country)
Barrio Sarriena, s/n
Leioa 48940
43° 19' 36.1344" N, 2° 59' 24.2052" W
Javascript is required to view this map.