Heterotic Computing

Date: 
2013-11-07 - 2013-11-08
Place: 
Chicheley, UK

Dear Colleagues,

We would like to announce and invite you to participate in a Theo Murphy Discussion Meeting at the Royal Society's Chicheley Hall 7-8 November 2013.

** Heterotic computing: exploiting hybrid computational devices **

Current computational theory deals almost exclusively with single models: classical, neural, analogue, quantum, etc. In practice, researchers use ad hoc combinations, realising only recently that they can be fundamentally more powerful than the individual parts. This meeting brings together theorists and practitioners of various types of computing, to engage in combining the individual strengths to produce powerful new heterotic devices.

* Invited Speakers *
Samson Abramsky (Oxford) http://www.cs.ox.ac.uk/samson.abramsky/
Andy Adamatzky (U West of England) http://uncomp.uwe.ac.uk/adamatzky/
Janet Anders (UCL) https://sites.google.com/site/janetanders/people/janet or http://www.ucl.ac.uk/phys/amopp/people/janet_anders
Jacob Beal (BBN Technologies) http://web.mit.edu/jakebeal/www/
Matthias Bechmann (York)
Lee Cronin (Glasgow) http://www.chem.gla.ac.uk/cronin/
Jerzy Gorecki (Warsaw) http://ichf.edu.pl/person/gorecki.html
Natasha Jonoska (U South Florida) http://shell.cas.usf.edu/~jonoska/
Julian Miller (York) http://www.elec.york.ac.uk/staff/jfm7.html
Klaus Mølmer (Aarhus) http://pure.au.dk/portal/en/persons/klaus-moelmer%28860eabfe-1f03-496d-9...
Alan Murray (Edinburgh) http://www.ee.ed.ac.uk/~afm/
Susan Stepney (York) http://www-users.cs.york.ac.uk/susan/
Damien Woods (Caltech) http://www.dna.caltech.edu/~woods/

* Discussion panel and sessions chairs *
Tony Hey (Microsoft) http://research.microsoft.com/en-us/people/tonyhey/
Tony Hoare (Microsoft) http://research.microsoft.com/en-us/people/thoare/
Malcolm Levitt (Southampton) http://www.southampton.ac.uk/chemistry/about/staff/mhl.page
Ottoline Leyser (Cambridge) http://www.slcu.cam.ac.uk/research/ottolineleyser.html

* Organisers *
Viv Kendon (Leeds) http://quince.leeds.ac.uk/~viv
Angelika Sebald (York) http://www.york.ac.uk/chemistry/staff/academic/o-s/asebald/
Susan Stepney (York) http://www-users.cs.york.ac.uk/susan/

Details, registration, submission (for posters**) at
http://royalsociety.org/events/2013/heterotic-computing/

(**) Poster session plus posters displayed in coffee break area throughout the meeting.

Spaces are limited, please register early to avoid disappointment!

Location

The Royal Society at Chicheley Hall
Chicheley Hall, Chicheley
Newport Pagnell MK16 9JH
United Kingdom
52° 6' 13.2984" N, 0° 40' 55.308" W
Javascript is required to view this map.